This is what happens when the 365 is done…

So, the project officially ended and the relief was palpable.  I didn’t pick up the camera for a whole week.  Well, I picked it up, had a couple of good intentions and ended up paving the road to Hell with them.

Before the crowds piled in….

And so this is where I pick up now…  A trip to Indiana Dunes yesterday with the spousal unit and the kids.  Oh my goodness, it was hot, Hot, HOT!  (The shot above is actually 3 photos merged together to create a nice panorama of the shore where we sat. It’s the first time I have actually attempted it, and I must say, I am quite happy with the result!) The  sand was scorching, the sun Muy caliente but the lake was freezing – the water temps have just reached 50 f – so diving in was either out of the question or just plain masochistic.  And to add insult to injury, we didn’t pack the frame for the canopy!  But it was as outweighed by the scent of the water, the wind on my face, the waves hitting the shore and the fact that we had no cell service at the beach – it all added up to a peaceful, relaxing day – Bob even got all of the way to the top of one of the tall dunes without burning his feet off and I had the pleasure of watching him run down the dune all Bay-watchy.  If you want to know, I only made it half way up the dune before my feet told me that it was time to head to some water before they burned to little stumps and my muscles were screaming at me that I am too out of shape!

At the end of the day I had to thank God for sunscreen and golf umbrellas, and the A/C that made life bearable on the way home with the outside temp at 100 degrees when we left.

One last thing – this photo is of Phragmites.  It is an invasive grass, that along with zebra mussels and Asian carp, is threatening the ecology of our Great Lakes.  The phragmites have almost completely choked out the native cat tails and other flora of the swamp and water areas.

Phreaking Phragmites…..

10 thoughts on “This is what happens when the 365 is done…

  1. It looks like a wonderful place to be in this heat. I’d have taken the plunge. Apparently you can make a flute-like instrument out of the Phreaking Phragmites. 😉

    • It really was wonderful, Robin – and I did end up soaked from head to toe, not once, but TWICE before we left for the day. It isn’t so bad after the initial screaming is over!
      And those Phragmites are the devil!

  2. So happy to have you back!!! The week was too long for you to be away 🙂 I have about 30 days left of my 365 and I think I will feel a sense of relief but also a little sad…although I won’t miss HAVING to take a photo…now I can lug around the camera when I choose to. Love these images and happy to hear you had a fun day….great panorama :))

  3. I am so happy to see this blog 🙂 I’m happy because you are back and I’m sure there will be amazing photos here.

    Can’t wait for my 365 to end so that I can do something like this 🙂

  4. I LOVE the panoramic picture. I haven’t visited your blog in a while, it’s nice to see what you’ve done since the 365 challenge!

    • I haven’t been posting enough, that is for sure, nor have I been checking in with the blogs I follow other than reading them in my email queue. I think I am still just burned out from the 365!

Talk to me!

