Not a Drop to Drink

Former stream bed. The tree is usually right at the edge of the water and  water should be pouring over the rocks in the background.

There is an old phrase, “Water, water everywhere, and not a drop to drink.”  The water situation in my region is getting so serious that if we don’t get rain soon, there will be no more drops to drink.  Lake beds are showing and ponds have disappeared now and I fear that what is left of our streams will be gone by the end of this week.  The endless irrigation of the huge corn and soybean fields does not help our water table, however I can understand the need to nourish the fields.  There are all too many fields of corn that are burned and starved beyond hope, the plants barely 3 feet high and the leaves dead and brown.

This creek should be fast flowing and extend at least 4 feet into the grass on each side of the water.

I took a trip to Bonneyville Mill, a county park full of bogs, streams and small waterfalls, this past Friday.  It took my breath away to find that the waterfalls have dried up and 90% of the streams are gone.  The river that runs through the park, supplying the mill with water flow is full of algae and sluggish.

September 2011 and July 2012

And we are looking at yet another week with no rain on the horizon.  It has been almost 5 weeks since we have even seen a trace of precipitation.  I feel like Sarah, Plain and Tall, in Skylark.  I wonder if those rain dances really work….

Dry and empty. How much worse will it get?

8 thoughts on “Not a Drop to Drink

    • My Norwegian relatives were just in the states for a visit and they told me that it has rained and rained and rained in Norway. I think that all of the water that has evaporated here has traveled there!

  1. We are dry here too in Eastern Nebraska, although the corn is 7 ft tall it’s now curling up before the ears fill out. Beans might not make anything. We need the rain, bad. BTW, I like to movie Sarah Plain and Tall also…go figure.

    • We had a year like this back in 1989 as well. That year, though, is a fog for me as we lost my grandmother in the spring and were moving by the end of summer. The cicadas are buzzing now and we are finally in the downswing of this hellish hot summer. It is still 94 degrees outside and the skies are red.

  2. I went on a hike this morning at a nearby state park and was shocked to see the creek dry. Bone dry. It made me wonder what the animals in the area are doing for water. Fortunately, the rain that eluded us yesterday came today. It rained for 3 hours and I don’t think I have ever been so happy to see rain.

    That first photo almost tells the whole story. I hope you got some of this latest batch of rain. I know it wasn’t enough, but it’s better than none at all. (And yes, I do think rain dances work. I’ve been doing one all week.)

    • We did get some of that rain, Robin, and I was doing the happy dance as well! I am amazed at the people who complain about the amount of rain we got and that it wasn’t enough and being quite bitter about it. I said the same thing to them that you just said, it is better than none at all!

Talk to me!

